Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky (1839 – 1881)

Mussorgsky was a Russian composer, one of the group known as The Five (a circle of composers who met in St. Petersburg in the years 1856–1870), the others being Mily Balakirev (the leader), César Cui, Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov and Alexander Borodin. The group strove to achieve a uniquely Russian musical identity, often in deliberate defiance of the established conventions of Western music.

Mussorgsky was an innovator and many of his works were inspired by Russian history, Russian folklore, and other nationalist themes. Such works include the opera 'Boris Godunov'', the orchestral tone poem 'Night on Bare Mountain', and the piano suite 'Pictures at an Exhibition'.

For many years Mussorgsky's works were mainly known in versions revised or completed by other composers. Many of his most important compositions have recently come into their own in their original forms, and some of the original scores are now also available.




Compositions in catalogue

Catalogue no.

Price £

To buy click PayPal links below



Brentwood Horn Club series



Twelve horns

Pictures at an Exhibition

edb 0112002

Mussorgsky / Foley